Monday, 3 April 2006

Airwolf Complete Season 1 (1984) UK DVD 2006

Back of Box:
Keep your eyes to the skies for non-stop action as the complete Season One of Airwolf soars onto dvd for the first time ever!

Jan-Michael Vincent stars as Stringfellow Hawke, a reclusive renegade pilot who's assigned to top-secret missions for the CIA by a mysterious "Archangel" (alex Cord) hawke's weapon of choice is the high-tech battle helicopter of the future.

Airwolf Loaded with cutting-edge surveillance equipment and unbelievable firepower. Airwolf takes hawke and his friend Dominic (Ernest Borgnine) around the globe in search of dangerous international spies and criminals. Ride along guest starts Lance LeGault, James Whitmore Jr, Shannen Doherty and David Carradine on all 11 episodes, including the thrilling two-hour pilot of this amazing action-adventure series.

Special Features:
Chapter Points / Animated Menu

The region 2 release came almost a year after the region 1, leaving people in the UK waiting, wondering and completely unsure if NBC would ever release it within the UK in region 2 format. Clearly the long time Airwolf fans just jumped on the .com seller sites rather than the and just bought the R1 release after about 2 months of waiting for an official R2 PlayBack release. (this is only advisable if you have a region free dvd player, almost every dvd player can be unlocked) Knowing this Universal clearly decided to re-package the actual DVD Menus and include an animation, probably in the hopes anyone living anywhere would spend more cash to get the R2 set, as many long time fans also did. Although it comes with an animated menu (unlike r1 release) but sadly it lacks the r1 episode summary screens.

Episode List:
 Episode #       Prod #        Air Date     Titles
__________ _________  __________ ___________________

01   1-01          58201       22/Jan/84     Shadow of the Hawke (1)
02   1-02          58276       22/Jan/84     Shadow of the Hawke (2)
03   1-03          58208       28/Jan/84     Daddy's Gone a Hunt'n
04   1-04          58205       04/Feb/84    Bite of the Jackal
05   1-05          58207       11/Feb/84    Proof Through the Night
06   1-06          58209       18/Feb/84    One Way Express
07   1-07          58211       03/Mar/84    Echos From the Past
08   1-08          58218       10/Mar/84    Fight Like a Dove
09   1-09          58216       24/Mar/84    Mad Over Miami
10   1-10          58217       31/Mar/84    And They Are Us
11   1-11          58221       07/Apr/84     Mind of the Machine
12   1-12          58210       14/Apr/84    To Snare a Wolf 

UK Region 2 Plexi Box & Cardboard Sleeve
4 Plexi Trays Hold The 4 DVD's Outside The Sleeve
As They Are Single Sided Each DVD Bers The ArtWork
What You Get In The UK Region 2 Set
How The DVD Loads & The 3D Model Hovers Down Into View
Animation Phase
Animation Phase

The Animation banks from left to right in a video looping motion until you select an option, then it turns side on and flys off to the left and presents the episode list or plays all.

DVD 1 Episode Selection Menu
DVD 2 Episode Selection Menu
DVD 3 Episode Selection Menu
DVD 4 Episode Selection Menu

Inside Cover of Plexi Tray

 Other Details:

DVD Release Date: 3/APRIL/2006
Aspect Ratio: 4.3 Full Screen 1.33:1
Audio: 2.0 Mono 
Running Time: 592 Mins Approx
Region Code: Region 2 UK PAL DVD
DVD Count: (4) Four Discs 
 UPC: 5050582383041

Review by TheWraith517